Coverage of 2018 Colorado Classic

Automatically updates with LIVE text and twitter updates from each stage of the race, daily.

Tip: You can find details of all the stages and the previous stage results in the middle column. Just click on the 'preview' or 'results' links.

Stage 2, Friday August 17, Vail to Vail, 9.87 miles ITT

** STARTS: 12:00 PST, 13:00 MST, 15:00 EST, 20:00 GMT, 21:00 CET **


Gavin Mannion wins uphill individual time trial and takes over the race lead

Gavin Mannion (UnitedHealthcare) won the uphill individual time trial on stage 2 of Colorado Classic on Friday, creasting the top of Vail Pass with in a time of 25m 41s to take the leader's jersey from Gage Hecht

The 16.2km course started in Vail and climbed to the top of Vail Pass at 2,950 metres high. The course started the cobbled roads in  Vail shopping village, and took riders on the ascent of the pass on a narrow bike path.

Jose Fernandes (EF-Drapac) was first of 80 riders to leave and set the benchmark time of 27:48.

Rally Cycling's Rob Britton was the next notable rider to set a faster time of 26:29.

It was Joe Dombrowski (EF-Drapac) who went even faster in 26:06 to take over the hot seat.

Mannion went even faster in a time of 25:41. 

Tvetcov coming close with a time of 25:52 to slot into second as no one could overhaul Mannion's time.

Mannion's put him into the leaders jersey as Gage Hecht finished over 1m 30s down.

2018 Colorado Classic Stage 2 Top 10

1 Gavin Mannion (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 0:25:41 
2 Serghei Tvetcov (Rom) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 0:00:11 
3 Hugh Carthy (GBr) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale 0:00:21 
4 Joe Dombrowski (USA) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale 0:00:25 
5 Damien Howson (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott 0:00:27 
6 Daniel Martinez (Col) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale 0:00:29 
7 James Piccoli (Can) Elevate-KHS 0:00:42 
8 Robert Britton (Can) Rally Cycling 0:00:48 
9 Toms Skujins (Lat) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:51 
10 Alexander Cataford (Can) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 0:00:53

2018 Colorado Classic GC after Stage 2

1 Gavin Mannion (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 2:58:43 
2 Serghei Tvetcov (Rom) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 0:00:11 
3 Hugh Carthy (GBr) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale 0:00:20 
4 Joe Dombrowski (USA) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale 0:00:25 
5 Damien Howson (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott 0:00:27 
6 Daniel Martinez (Col) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale 0:00:29 
7 James Piccoli (Can) Elevate-KHS 0:00:42 
8 Robert Britton (Can) Rally Cycling 0:00:48 
9 Toms Skujins (Lat) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:49 
10 Alexander Cataford (Can) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 0:00:50